Right On The Knows

Hitting The Lefty Loons With The Facts

Barbara Boxer’s blatant rewriting of history (via The Fact Checker)

Posted at 06:00 AM ET, 07/01/2011

By Glenn Kessler

“I think we ought to go back to the people and the party that was the only party and the only people to balance the budget in 40 years. I hate to break it to my Republican friends, but that is the Democratic Party. We are the ones who did it. We did it when Bill Clinton came into office. We did it after hard work. We did it after painful cuts. We did it with smart investments.”

— Sen. Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.), June 29, 2011

Each party in Washington seems to have their own narrative. Sen. Boxer’s comment above, from a long floor speech Wednesday lambasting Republicans for pushing a balanced budget amendment to the constitution, is a case in point.

In Boxer’s telling, the budget surplus that emerged in 1998 and continued for four years sprang forth from a critical moment — the passage of Bill Clinton’s 1993 deficit-reduction bill. For those who don’t remember, it was a cliffhanger vote in both houses of Congress, with not a single Republican lawmaker supporting it.

“Lucky for us, a lot of us are still here who made that fateful vote. We didn’t have one Republican voting for that budget, and when they came to the floor — I have all the quotes, chapter and verse–they said: This is horrible. It will never balance the budget. This is going to lead to a depression. This is the worst thing,” Boxer recounted.

Boxer added: “But we know what happened. We not only balanced the budget, but we had a surplus. We not only had a surplus, but the debt was going down so fast we thought we would never have to have Treasury bonds again. On top of that, we created 23 million jobs.”

But is that really what happened? Were Republicans — who controlled the House and essentially the Senate when the budget was in surplus in 1998, 1999, 2000 and 2001 — irrelevant to the process?

Read The Facts here …

July 6, 2011 - Posted by | Politics | , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. They are determined to rewrite history, with the mainstream media helping them along with it!

    Comment by loopyloo305 | July 6, 2011 | Reply

    • You got that right, loopy … Why the Republicans aren’t constantly shouting the truth from the rooftops, I’ll never know. Let’s just hope they have the gumption to stick it to Obama and his apostles on the National Debt issue and not cave on real, meaningful budget cuts and NO tax increases. It’s insane what Obama and his apostles want to do to an already anemic economy. Thanks for your input.

      Comment by Don Smith | July 6, 2011 | Reply

  2. ◦You got that right, loopy … Why the Republicans aren’t constantly shouting the truth from the rooftops, I’ll never know. Let’s just hope they have the gumption to stick it to Obama and his apostles on the National Debt issue and not cave on real, meaningful budget cuts and NO tax increases. It’s insane what Obama and his apostles want to do to an already anemic economy. Thanks for your input.

    Well, they ARE shouting from the housetops– at least three or more hours every day on talk radio– and I am fully prepared for them to drive the U.S. to default– I want to gloat! It would lead to another 56 years of Democrat majority. (After another 20 year depression of course.). Nothing wrong with the post! I just want to comment, that’s all! I think this is a great blog. I just happen to disagree sometimes being a Liberal and all. By the way…if I am proven wrong, I will be the first to repent publicly of my errors. I honestly believe that the Republicans will hold out til the last hour but that they will find a way to get the debt ceiling raised because they know that if they don’t get it raised, it will be political disaster. I think the whole “Tension” thing about the debt ceiling is a charade and that both sides contribute to it for some reason.
    i DO AGREE about the Lame Stream Media thing, however! I cannot understand the Lame Stream Media complicity since they are corporate controlled. I do not know the game they are playing for sure. But I don’t trust “Alternative Media” either because no matter what, there is never an escape from an “Agenda” of one kind or another. I trust The Lord and only The Lord! He will work it all out in the end.

    Comment by john liming | July 6, 2011 | Reply

    • Now John, talk radio is NOT Congress. I’m talking about Congressional Republicans. Talk radio can’t pass any laws, write any spending bills, waste over $1.5 trillion of the taxpayers’ money on bailouts and “stimulus” bills, sell guns to Mexican gunrunners, or any of that kind of fun stuff. You can’t blame the worst economy since the great depression on talk radio. You can’t blame the crushing U.S. record debt of over $14 trillion on talk radio, you can’t blame a REAL unemployment rate of nearly 16 percent on talk radio … Need I go on? You CAN credit MOST talk radio for being the only alternative, with the possible exception of FNC, to the liberal wacko stenographers for Obama and his apostles in the Democrat party, aka, the Mainstream Media. They have just as much of an “agenda” as talk radio, only it’s always the loony left agenda. Why do you think it will be the Republicans’ fault if the U.S. defaults on it’s debt because of a failure to raise the debt ceiling? Seems to me it’s Obama and the Dems who refuse to accept ANY deal that doesn’t include tax hikes and even higher levels of spending. Seems to me THAT’S the recipe for disaster during this time of deep recession. I trust the Lord, too, and you’re absolutely right that He will work it all out in the end. However, I see no guarantee that a free and vibrant United States of America has to be around when that happens. Protecting our country, keeping her free, and keeping her economically sound is up to US. If this nation doesn’t once again humble herself, and seek God’s face and blessings, we will go the way all other great nations in history that failed to do so. We’ll wind up alongside them on the ash heap of history.

      Comment by Don Smith | July 6, 2011 | Reply

      • ◦Yeah, Talk Radio can be an alternative for sure if you care to take some of your your commentary from some self-admitted substance-challenged individuals. But, you are also correct in saying that the Lame Stream Media has an Agenda too. I do however disagree that the Lame Stream Media has a Liberal Agenda because they have to say what their corporate controllers tell them to say. That is to say, they have to stay within the parameters of what “Big Business” wants them to stay within.(Money talks). I, personally, do not listen to either one of these because there is always going to be “Spin” to one argument or the other and I do not care to be spun. (I don’t mind doing a little spinning of my own and that is what my blog is about.)Why do I think it would be the Republicans fault is the U.S. defaults? Well, you cannot run a country the size of The United States without taxes and I agree that some of the spending has to be reigned in– I would suggest we start with cutting back on some of those tax breaks for the rich– I am in favor of the level “Fair Tax.” We could get rid of the Income Tax thing because it was supposed to be temporary anyway and it has gotten out of control. I think we should pay 25 or 30 percent across the board for everything we buy and that would solve some of this. (50 or 60 percent would be better.) (Once it gets started, there will be no end to the increases.) You know what I am beginning to think? I am beginning to think that the country is too big and too diverse to be governed at all. I think we should go back to the governmental format of the 1700s and start over again. And, Oh by the way–because of human nature being what it is, I think we are well on the way to the cyclic renewal of world power structure. I see China as the rising and eventually dominant super power. They are busy buying us up at an alarming rate right now. (And, of course, thanks to human greed, we are for sale!). It is a pitiful situation and I am glad that I am old enough that I probably won’t be around to see the end of all this. I think this is out of human control now and that is why I am so insistent on the need for God to intervene. One day at a time, Sweet Jesus, I pray…”

        Comment by john liming | July 6, 2011 | Reply

        • You know, John, I agree with most of what you said in this comment. Thanks for contributing to the discussion. Your views are always welcome. Please come back often.

          Comment by Don Smith | July 6, 2011 | Reply

  3. good post thanks for the reminder

    Comment by OklahomaBrad | July 6, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks for the comment, Brad! Your input is much appreciated.

      Comment by Don Smith | July 6, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

