Right On The Knows

Hitting The Lefty Loons With The Facts

The Scandal of the Gospel (via Christianity.com – Blogs)

Tuesday, June 14, 2011 | 12:01 PM

By Albert Mohler
Author, Speaker, President of the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary

There is no shortage of perplexing realities in our world today, but counted among them must be the fact that many rather well informed people seem to be shocked that Christians believe the doctrines of Christianity.

Over the weekend, Rep. Anthony Weiner announced that he will request a leave of absence from the House of Representatives in order to seek professional treatment in the aftermath of his sexting scandal on Twitter. In the words of his spokeswoman, Risa Heller, the congressman left last Saturday “to seek professional treatment to focus on becoming a better husband and healthier person.”

She continued: “In light of that, he will request a short leave of absence from the House of Representatives so that he can get evaluated and map out a course of treatment to make himself well.”

That is a course now familiar to us all. As a matter of fact, it is now almost a reflex that people caught in moral trouble (especially related to sex) announce that they are seeking “treatment” for the problem.

On the one hand, this just points to the fact that the “Triumph of the Therapeutic” heralded by sociologist Philip Rieff in 1966 is now so ingrained in our culture that therapy appears to be the answer to every problem, including a moral crisis.

Sadly, many Christians have accepted this worldview as their own, believing that their own deepest problems are therapeutic rather than theological in nature. To our shame, many books written by and for evangelical Christians reflect the therapeutic impulse, rather than the appropriate biblical and spiritual concerns.

Read more …

June 24, 2011 - Posted by | Religion | , , , , , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. Too bad more of them don’t have a better understanding of the Bible, perhaps if they did they would not be in the trouble that they are in! At least we could hope and pray that they would not!

    Comment by loopyloo305 | June 24, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi loopy. I’m assuming you’re referring to the many rather well informed people who seem to be shocked that Christians believe the doctrines of Christianity. Let’s hope and pray that they are very soon enlightened and come to realize the meaning and truth of the Bible as the inspired Word of God to His people.

      Comment by Don Smith | June 24, 2011 | Reply

  2. Absolutely!

    Comment by loopyloo305 | June 24, 2011 | Reply

  3. I am not surprised that there are those who are shocked at the fact that Christians believe the doctrines of Christianity. I, in fact, am a Christian myself. I am the kind of Christian that Billy Graham might have spoken about. But there is a new face of so-called “Christianity” that has risen today that preaches hatred, violence and national patriotism in lieu of The Precious Fruits Of The Holy Spirit. This new Face of Christianity is devoid of love, forgiveness, forebearance, longsuffering and all the rest of what some of us knew as Christianity. This new Christianity seems to be concerned only with who votes, how hey vote and who they vote for. This is not right.

    Comment by http://thelimingview.blogspot.com/ | June 27, 2011 | Reply

    • Soooo … Do you have a problem with the article? It’s not clear to me. Thanks for participating, John.

      Comment by Don Smith | June 27, 2011 | Reply

  4. Thank you for posting this article. If I may, I would like to respond to the comment above.

    “loopyloo305” makes reference to “a new face of so called “Christianity” that has risen today that preaches hatred, violence and national patriotism in lieu of The Precious Fruits Of The Holy Spirit.”

    If there are Christians out there preaching a message of hate and violence, I have yet to run into any. There are many Christians (myself included) who take a great interest in politics, and who are concerned with who sits in the Oval Office and in other positions of leadership in this country.

    I feel very strongly that it is my duty as a follower of Christ to be a voice for truth and righteousness in this world. Loving one’s country and loving one’s neighbor enough to warn them of the danger of their ways and call them to repentance before it is too late doesn’t somehow lessen one’s faith, but is rather an expression of a deeply committed faith in the Lord Jesus Christ.

    Comment by Ann-Louise Gremminger | June 29, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi Ann-Louise. Thank you so much for a great, great comment. I’ve often wondered where all these so-called preachers of hate and violence are, myself. I keep hearing about them only from left-leaning liberal Democrats. The comment you refer to, though, wasn’t from “loopyloo305”, but actually from “thelimingview”, (Thought I’d just clear that up, and I see how you could think it was, since you’d expect the name of the commenters to be before their comments, not after.) Anyhow, thanks again for your excellent contribution to the discussion. Please stop by again soon.

      Comment by Don Smith | June 29, 2011 | Reply

    • Well put! I imagine that since God appoints rulers and kings and governments, we ought to be giving thanks for His Wisdom in appointing our present administration. I am sure that, as Christians, we ought also to be praying for our leaders.So I join with you and all the Faithful in asking God to Bless President Obama and give him the wisdom and strength to lead, guide and direct the affairs of America according to the Will of Him whose Name was invoked at the swearing in at the Inauguration. God bless you and keep you.

      Comment by john liming | July 27, 2011 | Reply

  5. That is a course now familiar to us all. As a matter of fact, it is now almost a reflex that people caught in moral trouble (especially related to sex) announce that they are seeking “treatment” for the problem. (Albert Mohler)

    And I, for one, am so grateful to God that Michele Bachmann’s husband, Dr. Bachmann, is able to successfully clinically restore the Homosexual to normalcy. Praise God! It is good that those dedicated Christians from the Right side of the aisle have the resources and the power to treat these problems for these most unfortunate sinners — and they receive funds from Medicare for their services, is that correct?
    What a wonderful use for those despicable Liberal Entitlement Programs that absolutely must be done away with at once! I know the candidate would agree.

    Comment by john liming | July 19, 2011 | Reply

  6. You know what I would like to know? I would like to know exactly who these people that you are referring to here are? [ ” My hope, and the mission for this blog is that it will help to expose the LOONY LEFT for what it really is: FAR-LEFT EXTREMEISTS who believe the United States should abandon the principals of liberty, Judeo-Christian values, and the essentially private-enterprise economy that made her great, and adopt policies that will destroy our basic freedoms, the traditional family, and return to the old Keynesian economics theory that has been proven to be disastrous as a permanent policy.”]

    Who on the Left has said that we should abandon the principles of liberty, Judaeo-Christian values and the essentially private-enterprise economy that made her great, and adopt policies that will destroy our basic freedoms, the traditional family and return to the old Keynesian economics theory that has proven to be disasterous as a permanent policy? I have never heard anyone from the Liberal, Progressive, Democrat or Left Wing side ever say anything remotely resembling any of that !

    If you want to accuse people of these things, then you ought to at least be willing to identify who you are talking about, don’t you agree? I would be exceptionally careful about judging people’s motives– especiallty those who may be among the Christians on the left who believe in America and Love Liberty and Truth and Justice just as much as anyone!

    I would like you to point me to some CREDIBLE sources showing that the loony left and the far-left extremeists want to do these things they are being accused of doing here. Can you do that? I would also like you to show me some CREDIBLE sources that prove that the Leftys in American politics are actually “Loony or extremeist in their approach to politics. I hope you realize the Founding Fathers were, for the most part Liberals, drafted a Constitution giving great and sweeping powers to a large centralized government, had no intention whatever of making America anything but a secular nation and that, for all this time that America has been a nation, The Democrats have spent more time, more often in elected office than the Republicans and that this proves, beyond a shadow of a doubt, the American People prefer Democrat administrations over all others.

    Comment by john liming | July 25, 2011 | Reply

    • Great comment, John. I understand your frustration, since you couldn’t come up with any evidence to back up even one of your outlandish claims in any of your posts that I asked you to produce at:

      http://thelimingview.blogspot.com/

      and in particular at:

      http://thelimingview.blogspot.com/2011/07/wall-street-reform.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+blogspot%2FYuWQb+%28THE+LIMING+VIEW%29

      I think, though, that if you’ll just relax, take a deep breath, and read any or all of my posts on this blog, you’ll find adequate sources are offered for everything written about or referenced here.

      As for your issues with my “About This Blog” Mission Statement, I’ll show you mine when you show me yours. Otherwise, just look around at what’s happened to the culture, politics, courts, economy, society, TV, movies, video games, music, schools, traditional families, morals — must I go on? — for just the past 40 years or so. If you can’t see it, I can’t explain it to you, but I will pray for you.

      Comment by Don Smith | July 26, 2011 | Reply

      • Hey there old friend… thanks for the plug! When i click on the blue links you have provided, I can read my blog. That is a wonderful thing and I thank you for making me available to your readers in this most gracious fashion. Did you want me to do that for you the next time I answer a comment? I will be more than happy to. I am really excited that you have decided to promote me like this. Thanks again! Oh by the way, if you are interested in writing a guest post on my blog about how off base I am on issues, I will be more than happy to publish it. Just let me know and we can work out the mechanical details. In the meantime, thanks for all the insights and, of course, I can’t see it! That is why I do Liberal blogging. The prayers are appreciated. I always appreciate prayers.

        Comment by john liming | July 26, 2011 | Reply

        • You’re welcome, John. I thought readers might better understand the context of our discussion. Always glad to send readers your way.

          Comment by Don Smith | July 27, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

